The Thing About Dogs

I’ll start off by saying that I’m not an animal person. No, this does not mean that I hate animals. Animals are cool. I’m even a vegetarian. I just don’t like touching them or having them around me.

OK, I’ll admit that I like hamsters and guinea pigs. But I don’t particularly like to hold them.

I’m also slightly allergic to cats, so that contributes.

Dogs, however, are a different story.

I’m very outspoken about how much I hate dogs. Once I was in a class, and we were all introducing ourselves. Someone said they loved dogs, and every single person in the room chimed in about how cute puppies were. Except for me.

So… the truth is that I don’t actually hate dogs. I just don’t like them. There are two parts to this story.

The first is that dogs seem to get tons of attention. For example, in the UK, dog and cat charities get more money than charities to help actual humans in difficult situations. This seems kind of silly to me. I mean, it’s OK to support stray animals… but we should also support our own kind!

Related: everyone is always saying how cute dogs are, and that’s why we should support them. WHAT. I am sick and tired of this human bias towards “cute” things. People think ferrets are cute, when in reality they almost made the native birds extinct when introduced to New Zealand. (Alright, it was partly the humans’ fault, but still.)

Also, this goes the other way too. Ever heard of Lizzie Velasquez? She was called the “ugliest woman in the world” by some Internet trolls, but she is actually an extremely brave, funny, inspirational person. Don’t judge someone/something by its looks, people.

Part 2: I have cynophobia, which is the irrational fear of dogs. I don’t want you to tell me that dogs are friendly and I shouldn’t be afraid of them. I don’t want you to say, “Ooh, come over here and pet my puppy! She doesn’t bite.” The fact is that I am irrationally afraid of dogs. There is no logical reason why. Even though I am usually a logical person, phobias are not very logical things.

So please, for goodness’ sake, keep your dogs away from me!

Note: I am not chastising anyone for being a dog lover/owner. It’s totally OK to like dogs! I’m just saying to please be respectful.

Thanks.

3 thoughts on “The Thing About Dogs

Leave a Reply

